Creative Writing Assignment-Screen Play

I know it’s not formatted correctly on here, sorry about that. I now know why I am not a screen play writer, formatting is a pain in the arse! I was up all night just formatting and figuring out where everything goes for two short scenes, equating to 7 measly pages!. Not by best work but hey I still like it.

Title: True Evil Queen

SCENE ONE

Int. High school gym-1:00 PM

Girls and boys in a circle around Jezebel, who is crying and holding broken glasses. Kids taunting her and pushing her every so often.

All
(chanting)
Jezzey-bell the big fat whale

Mid-Twenties Daemon walks in dressed in am all white suite. Breaks up the crowd and pulls Jezebel to the stage.

Daemon
(caring)
Are you OK Jezebel?

Jezebel
(sobbing)
No, they broke my glasses. I can’t see anything. It’s all fuzzy.

Daemon waves his hands over her eyes.

Jezebel
(astonished)
I can see! How did you do that?

Daemon
(happy)
That is nothing compared to all I can do. I can change my age as well.

Poof of white smoke and Daemon is a 12-year-old boy dressed in a black hoodie and black jeans.

Daemon cont’d
See nothing to it.

Jezebel
(amazed)
Who are you?

Daemon
(chuckling)
Daemon. I’m here to make you an offer. A chance to get back at every single one of those kids tormenting you.

Jezebel
(interested)
How? I’m not like you, I can’t do any of that magic.

Daemon
There is a…another plane of resistance. One that I can take you to and you can learn the same tricks, plus more.

Jezebel
(cautious)
How? Why me? What’s the catch?

Daemon
(contemplating)
The way the other plane works is, you must make a sacrifice to enter. The bigger the sacrifice, the better your position there. My meager sacrifice allowed me to shed my old enemies, make this world a better and become the most powerful man on the other plane.

Jezebel
What type of sacrifice?

Daemon
Nothing too big, but it is sort of a two part sacrifice. Or some combine it into one to get it over with. The bigger the sacrifice makes it easier.

Jezebel
(irritated)
What type of sacrifice?!

Daemon
(glaring)
You have to unlock your true nature. To do so you must end someone’s life. The more people, the better off you are when you shed your corporeal form and join me.

Jezebel
(bored)
That’s it? Seriously? I’ve been working on how to get rid of my class for months now.

Daemon
I know that’s why I’m here. The other plane has a knack of knowing where to find people like you.

Jezebel
(inquisitive)

What if there was someone I wanted dead more than all the kids in my class? Would this person be the counted as just one or multiple?

Daemon
(confused)
No matter how much you want one certain person dead that one only counts as one. Leading to you just being a soldier instead of a queen by going with six or more.

Jezebel
So even if my hatred for this person can equate to that of a whole class of fourteen, I’d still be a low man on the totem pole?

Daemon
Maybe…I could move you up to controlling a whole army. It would take some work, but I could do it.

Jezebel takes two steps away from Daemon. The lights fade out with one spotlight on her.

Jezebel
(aside)
I don’t think this fool knows whom he is really talking to. This is going to be too easy.

Taking two steps back toward Daemon, light fades in.

Jezebel
I can work with that.

Daemon
Whom do you have in mind?

Jezebel
My mother.

Light fades out

SCENE TWO

INT. 2nd FLOOR HOUSE-MIDNIGHT

Medium sized circular room with purple walls and purple shag carpeting. On the bench seat is 12-year-old Jezebel. Dressed in black jeans and a black hoodie, staring at the middle of the room.

JEZEBEL
(curiously)
Why should I kill her Daemon?

Daemon appearing as a 12-year-old boy dressed the same as Jezebel. Standing in the middle of the room holding a sharp knife carefully by the blade, offering it to her.

DAEMON
(urging)
She must die for you to join me.

JEZEBEL
But she’s my mum, certainly I would get in trouble with da.

DAEMON
(calmly)
You cannot join me unless you make a female sacrifice.

JEZEBELLE
My life ain’t enough? Why her and not someone else?

Stairs creak outside the closed door. Mum and Da can be heard laughing off stage.

JEZEBEL Cont’d
(nervous)
They’re coming. Put the knife away.
Daemon fades into the shadows, the knife slides across the floor by his unseen hands. Jezebel quietly jumps into a single bed and pulls the covers over her head. Light creeps in as Mum opens the door, pops her head in.

MUM
(whispering)
She’s asleep.

Mum pulls her head out and closes the door. The couple are heard stumbling down the hall and a door thuds shut.

JEZEBELLE
They gone?
Daemon is still invisible but voice is coming from left of the bed.

DAEMON
(irritated)
Yes, they’ve gone to bed.

Jezebel pushes the blanket down to her chest and looks for Daemon. He appears in swirling black smoke.

JEZEBEL
(frightened)
Please don’t be angry Daemon. I’ll do it, if you want me too. Just please don’t leave me.

DAEMON
Why shouldn’t I just leave you here? You’re worthless. Pathetic, I don’t know why I ever chose you. Jezebel, you could never lead my army.

Daemon shows what Jezebel believes to be his true self, handsome 25-year-old man in an all-white suit. He stretches.

DAEMON
(relieved)
That’s better. Sorry, I get a little cranky as a boy. Look, if you want to join me and become the woman you are supposed to be you will do it. Otherwise I’ll have to move on.

Jezebel gets out of bed and on her knees

JEZEBEL
(desperate)
Please Daemon, I want to go with you! There is nothing for me here, you promised me a better life if I would just kill myself and one other.

Daemon sits on the edge of the bed, head resting on hands.

DAEMON
(aggravated)
If you remember correctly, I promised you your own queendom if you committed mass murder of more than six women. Then we negotiated down to one woman of my choosing for fighting by my side. If you back out now, I disappear and you become the next target.

Jezebel stops crying and stands up.

JEZEBEL

(determined)
I’ll do it. Where is the knife?

The knife appears in her left hand. She grips it firmly. Jezebel stalks to the door, knife raised.

Daemon
(happy)
Finally…go on my little minion.

Daemon follows behind, Jezebel stops at the door.

JEZEBEL
(quietly)
Just one thing. I don’t want to rule just one queendom.

Jezebel spins quickly around and stabs Daemon in the heart.

JEZEBEL
(evil)
I want it all!

End Scene

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

