Do I Use an “A”, or Do I Use “An”? And Does It Really Matter?

booksandopinions.com

Yes, it really does matter. Especially to whomever is reading your writing.

Store Image Pictures 002

One of the most common errors I see when reading online comments, stories, blog posts, etc. is the incorrect use of “a” and “an”.

A very simple rule can help you remember which one to use when. If the word following it starts with a consonant, you use “a”. If it starts with a vowel, you use “an”. Simple enough, right? Except for if the word starts with a consonant that is silent, so the word sounds like it starts with a vowel.

Are you still with me? Good. It will all look clear in a minute. 

Such as, “I will be over in an hour.” Or, “I would like an honest answer.”

This also makes sense: “Can I have a pencil?”

Saying “Can I have an pencil?” is painful to read. And yes, I have read this…

View original post 175 more words

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

