One Old Rule to Start a Story

A Writer's Path

Typewriter

When I was about sixteen or seventeen and getting back into writing prose fiction for either the second or third time in my life, I had a rule for how to begin my stories. It was basically something like: “Write the first draft and then delete the first paragraph”.

Until I got better at writing, this rule worked really well because I’d often start my stories in a fairly boring way, and it’d make sure that they started “in media res”.

View original post 1,219 more words

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

