Weird Writer’s Block

Ever feel like getting into the writing zone is like pulling teeth until you hit a certain time of day (or night) when everything starts to just flow? I’ve noticed a pattern for myself, I try writing all day and most of the night but most of the time I can’t do it. It’s not until I hit my “golden hour” of four in the bloody morning, that I can write more than one paragraph.

I’m starting to nod off, staring at my tablet screen, with Eminem or some other singer serenading me to sleep and decide to call it a night at 3:50ish. Ten BAM! Four o’clock hits and I’m flooded with ideas that I have to write down or they’ll be gone in the morning.

It’s weird because only for that one hour, I can’t type fast enough to keep up with the multitude of ideas that strike for all the different projects I have going or different blog posts (such as this one), but the second the clock strikes five everything disappears and I can’t keep my eyes open.

And I’ve found that it doesn’t work if I go to sleep at like seven or eight and wake up at three thirty to wait for four. No, I have to be up all day and night just for that one hour of good writing time.

It ticks me off and makes my family think I’m either antisocial or just enjoy staying up all night watching Netflix and Hulu Plus. News Flash, most of the time I just have that stuff going on in the background for the noise. I’m sitting at my computer tuning out whatever I have playing, only occasionally looking up from the tablet when someone makes a loud sound. Rest of the time I’m trying to figure out how to make my characters corporate.

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

