2nd Chances

I was on Facebook the other day and came across a post that prompted a post on here. It said, “If you had a chance to start over with someone, would you or would you choose not to meet them at all?”
Very good question as those we meet help shape us into who we are today. If you could go back in time would you choose to meet someone who taught you about love, but broke your heart? What about the person who showed you how cruel the world can be?
We all have regrets and would jump at the chance to rewrite our histories, but choosing not to meet someone is not something I had thought of. If I chose to go back and not meet a certain someone, I would be different because of he lessons that person taught me. Then again if I hadn’t met that one person, there is always the chance of someone else having taught me the same lessons only differently.
It’s sort of a Catch-22, just because one person doesn’t teach you that the world is cruel or what the pain of a broken heart can put you through, doesn’t mean that another person won’t. That second person can be meaner than the first or more loving just to be snatched away. In the end you still learn but with slightly different methods.
While I haven’t had the best experience with a few people, I wouldn’t choose not to meet someone from my past. Now if I could stop my mom from meeting a certain number of people…that’s a different story. Even in choosing that path I would change my own life, so again would I go back just to stop myself (or my mom) from meeting a person or take a second chance to see if I can change the outcome? I’m not sure.
I can see the benefits of trying to change the result, but it is not a guarantee. There is also the possibility of coming out worse than before. I wouldn’t want to risk it, if I did choose to go back it would be to not meet the person. Better to not meet, than change and make it worse.

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

2 thoughts on “2nd Chances”

  1. Very interesting. Yes, if we hadn’t met the people we did meet in our past, things could be quite different in the present or even the future. Like you, I met a few people I’d rather forget but they did help to mold my character into today’s woman. I just have them locked away (in my mind) to use in my books where I need to create an evil person 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

