Guest Post by Marc Turner: Why NaNoWriMo Just Doesn’t Work For Me

It’s just my second year for NaNoWriMo and I am finding it helps, but at that same time it can hurt the writer as well as the manuscript.

Leona's Blog of Shadows

Today’s guest post is by Marc Turner, author of The Chronicle of The Exile series.

Why NaNoWriMo Just Doesn’t Work For Me

It’s November, and for many writers that means NaNoWriMo. For those who don’t already know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. Thousands of people are currently trying to write a 50,000-word novel in 30 days. That breaks down to just 1,666 words a day, which sounds simple, right? At the end of the process, participants have a finished manuscript that they can begin to edit into something of publishable standard.

My debut, When the Heavens Fall, came out this May, but it’s actually a book I wrote a few years ago. It’s also the first book I ever completed, so I was discovering my writing ‘voice’ as I went along. At the time, I’d read books on writing craft that stressed the importance of getting your first…

View original post 1,030 more words

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

