#ASI: Eve Rabi

Hi Eve. Thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself and your background? Hi, Courtney. Thank you for having me on your lovely site. A little about me: I am an author of 26 romantic crime and suspense-filled novels. I live in Sydney Australia, but I was born in South Africa. If you enjoy high drama with exciting twists and turns, contemporary romances with elements of a crime thriller, stories of revenge and suspense, then you will enjoy my books. But be prepared to gasp, to laugh and to cry while you fall in love. As one reader put it “Eve Rabi goes there. I love that in an author.”
I am living a dream – I am a full-time writer.

Eve 1

 Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? Some time ago, my ex-husband and I ran a magazine in Sydney’s North Shore. It was a success but hard work. Since I worked for a newspaper before, I wrote all the articles for our magazine. I did everything for the magazine, in fact. It was around then, that I realized how much I enjoyed writing. Especially humorous articles. I began to work secretly on CAPTURED – My Sworn Enemy, My Secret Lover, but with two little kids there was never any time to do the things I liked. I was extremely frustrated that I couldn’t write to my heart’s content, so I woke up every day at 3 a.m., crept downstairs to my study and wrote till 7 a.m.
I stopped watching TV for two years and used every spare minute to dream and write. I only published my first book in 2012, though.

What are your current projects?
I’m currently working on two more books due in December 2016.

Discuss your newest book.


Eve 2

As the picture above indicates, THE OTHER WOMAN is a story about a betrayed wife who suddenly finds that she has lost everything – her husband, her children, her home, her friends and her life. With nothing to lose, she decides not to turn the other cheek. Instead she decides to dig up dirt on the other woman and uses it to sabotage her ex-husband’s life. This book has an overall 5-star rating on Amazon UK. Sounds interesting.

Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special? Scarlett Smyth in The Other Woman – she is a seductress and rather good at it. She believes that she can seduce any male, taken or single and she does.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? In the words of Jack Nicholson (the unloading of a husband) in The Witches of Eastwick: “…death, desertion, divorce – the three Ds; when that happens, a woman blooms.”
Jack’s right, you know. I bloomed after my marriage ended. After I reached rock bottom, of course. THE OTHER WOMAN is not my story, however, having experienced the pain of betrayal in my marriage, I can say that all the pain the wronged wife felt in THE OTHER WOMAN was all mine. But I have to point out that I am currently really happy in my life right now. In fact, ending my marriage was the best thing that could have happened to me. I have a spring in my step. Congratulations on your divorce…in the best way. 🙂

 Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead character from your most recent book? Jennifer Lawrence would make a fabulous Scarlett.

What books have most influenced your life most? The Valley of the Dolls and most of Sydney Sheldon’s books. I hear that is good, but never picked it up.

What inspired you to write your first book? An article in the newspaper about the war in Iraq inspired me to write the romantic suspense book called CAPTURED.

 Eve 3

When did you decide to become a writer? In 2003 I started penning my first novel. It took me five years to finish it.

Why do you write? I write because I have to. If I had more time in the day, I would churn out about three books a year.

Do you write full-time or part-time? I am a full-time writer. As I said earlier on, I used to dream about being a full-time writer and now, I can hardly believe, I am living my dream. I never take it for granted.

What is the hardest thing about writing? I juggle kids, a home, a social life and work (writing). I’ve learned that it’s important to achieve balance in one’s life, so I have to force myself not to spend all my time doing what I love and that is writing books.

What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book? Although it was cathartic, it was extremely painful to write THE OTHER WOMAN. The raw hurt, the unpleasant memories swarmed and overwhelmed me at times. However, it was a good thing in the end.

Eve 4

What is the easiest thing about writing? I never suffer writer’s block and I never run short of ideas. In fact, I have books scheduled for 2019!

What book are you reading now? I’m reading a book on body language, can you believe it?

What is one random thing about you? I dance. Ceroc, salsa, ballroom, modern jive – I dance all the time. I started dancing when I was fifteen and have never stopped.

What is your preferred medium of writing? Pen and paper or strictly tablet and computer? Laptop. I have two state-of-the-art laptops that I use.

What does your writing process look like? Oh, it’s such a mess in the beginning, I often amaze myself when I manage to piece together the story in the end.

Do you have any strange writing habits (like standing on your head or writing in the shower)? No. But I do tend to eat a lot while I am writing a book. Like a lot!

How important are names to you in your books? Very. I start off with a name for my characters, but by the time I finish the book, I’ve changed the names at least 4 or more times.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? The legal facets, police procedural and courtroom aspects. Luckily my sister is an attorney and she guides and corrects me.

Did you make any marketing mistakes or is there anything you would avoid in future?
Yes, I failed to mention sexual violence in my book called GRINGA, and I got blasted for it. Turns out the reader who kicked my butt for my omission is another author, not a reader.

What is your favorite motivational phrase? This too shall pass.

What is your favorite book and why? Currently, I would say Gone Girl. I love the author’s style of writing and I find her prose lyrical.

Do you have any advice for other writers? Keep writing. Never stop.

Eve 5

What do you like to do when you’re not writing? I am a person who loves life and when I’m not writing, I’m usually dancing and socializing. Or pretending to clean my house.

From where do you gain your inspiration? From everywhere, mainly music.

What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around? I have been approached by publishers, but I did not like their conditions. I love the feeling of being able to craft without restraint and restriction. Don’t fence me in.

How do you market your books? I use mainly social media, Facebook. I also use Amazon, Smashwords, etc.  Fiverr.com also helps.

Why did you choose this route?
Self-publishing is the route most writers chose these days. No longer do we need agents telling us how to write and controlling our every move. Amazon has made that possible.

Would you or do you use a PR agency?
I’m not sure. Maybe in the future.

Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books?
Take your books to the readers. Facebook is a good medium – make use of it.

What part of your writing time do you devote to marketing your book?
I have two assistants who help me market. Of course, they do it under supervision and that does take up half my day.

What do you do to get book reviews? I still find it hard to get enough reviews. It’s something all authors complain of.

How successful has your quest for reviews been so far? It’s been a while since I solicited reviews. So I guess I’m lucky there.

Do you have a strategy for finding reviewers? No. Luckily I have a great number of faithful readers who post reviews without me having to ask.

What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews? Most of my really bad reviews comes from other authors. It’s clear to see that. I take the good with the bad. You cannot escape that.

Any amusing story about marketing books that happened to you? Nothing amusing, however, I had some pretty bad experiences where I got kicked out of some Facebook groups for not adhering to the rules. I wasn’t rebelling or anything – I just messed up.

What’s your views on social media for marketing? Facebook works for me. I haven’t had much luck with Pinterest, Twitter or Instagram, even though I promote my books on them.

Any tips on what to do and what not to do? Be focused on what you want to achieve as an author. Also, be nice to other authors. It will serve you well in the end.

 Eve 6

Did you do a press release, Goodreads book launch or anything else to promote your work and did it work? No, I’ve never done any of that. I did advertise on Goodreads once, but the response was weak. I promoted via book tours but there again, the response wasn’t anything to get excited about.

Which famous person, living or dead would you like to meet and why?
I would love to go on holiday with Madonna. She’s not only gifted, she’s fun. Amy Schumer would be my next choice.

If you could have been the original author of any book, what would it have been and why? Gone Girl. I think it’s a great book. I love Gillian Flynn’s sense of humor and I find her prose lyrical.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers? Keep writing. Never stop. Cut out all distractions. I gave up television for two years when I was writing. I also hibernated for more than a year while I wrote more books. I wanted it that bad.
How can readers discover more about you and you work?
Website/blog: http://everabi.wordpress.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/eve.rabi
Twitter – https://twitter.com/EveRabi1
Pinterest – http://www.pinterest.com/everabiauthor/
Google + – https://plus.google.com/111560859015561071911
Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/everabiauthor
Instagram: https://instagram.com/everabiauthor/
Amazon U.K.: http://amzn.to/14vFE8r
Email:everabi2012@hotmail.com

 

 

 

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

