#ASI: Kathleen Kelly

Hi Kathleen, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself and your background?I’m married to a wonderful man. We have no children but two of the furry kind 🙂 two cats, Grace and Jack.We recently moved to Toowoomba in Queensland to be closer to family. I worked for many years in retail until another well known Author, told me I needed to put my overactive imagination to work for myself. I had previously helped her with her first few books.

Discuss your newest book. Savage Lover is my newest book it is number four in my Savage Angels Series. It is not a stand alone and you will need to read the others first. Yes ma’am!

kat

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? I’ve always loved to read and another Author asked me to help her with her books and the rest is history.

What are your current projects? Right now I’m working on Savage Sacrifice, it’s number five in my series, it will be out on 31st of May.
After that I’m part of an Anthology which is filled with the most amazing Authors, it was an honour to be asked! It’s called A Tale Well Travelled.

What books have most influenced your life most? Not sure about influenced, there are many that have stuck with me over time.
The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay
Hopeless by Colleen Hoover
Anita Blake the Vampire Hunter Series by Laurell K Hamilton

What inspired you to write your first book? The story was already in my head asking to be written. The first book, Savage Stalker was the easiest to write.

Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special? Dane is loyal to those around him, he’s strong and when he falls in love, he does it completely and forever.
Kat is wild, headstrong and a little confused. Like me she doesn’t tolerate disloyalty or people who treat her badly. She’s capable of cutting them out of her life, no matter how much it hurts and moving on.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? Loyalty above all else. Betray those you love and suffer the consequences.

Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead character from your most recent book?
In Savage Lover I have the model Alex Atanasov in my head for Kade Cantrill but with longer hair 🙂
For Destiny Bennett, Ashley Greene – she’s absolutely beautiful. Love guys with long hair.

When did you decide to become a writer? July 2014, and I released Savage Stalker in December 2014.

Why do you write? The easiest answer is because I love it. Because just as I’m about to go to sleep a character will speak to me and I have to get up and write it down. The more you do the easier it gets and the more enjoyable.

What made you decide to sit down and actually start something? A very good friend had released a few books and was having some success with it. She encouraged me.

Do you write full-time or part-time?  I write full-time and this year I hope to get more books out. Good luck!

What is the hardest thing about writing? Making myself do it and the isolation. I’m a social creature, that’s why I can often be found in cafes. My favourite cafe, now that I’ve moved in The Barn and Scotty’s Garage. Great food and great people.

What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book? If I don’t have the story completely plotted, my mind is working in overdrive and it keeps me awake at night.

What is the easiest thing about writing? Not sure that anything is easy. There’s a lot of decisions to make, like the Title, it can’t be something that’s too popular on Amazon or it will get lost. I wanted to call Savage Lover, Savage Heart but there are far too many on Amazon.
Then you have to design a cover, I’m lucky to have the women at Romantic Book Affairs to help me.
Then the blurb for the back of the book – I suck at this! Thankfully I have a PA Maci Dillon who often does these for me.
Then you write the story. For me if it’s plotted, it flows, it it’s not it becomes disjointed and I can’t get myself to sit in a chair and write.
Then you finish the book.
You have to find an editor and I’m lucky to have Susan Child. Then the re-writes begin.
You send it to Betas, that you can trust, and the re-writes begin.
Now, it’s finished and you have to hire a promotions company to help get your name out there, again I’m lucky I have Kylie Give Me Books and I can’t recommend her enough.
Then there’s the Cover Release and I’m lucky as LLEP, Love Lust and Erotic Pleasures handles all my Facebook parties including the release day launch.
Now, let’s not forget the bloggers, readers and fans,who help me promote my books, without them I would be lost.
And then there’s all the self promotion, that is endless.
The easiest part of all this is interacting with the fans. They make it all worth while.

What book are you reading now? I’m re-reading a book by Christine Feehan called Dark Prince. A friend recommended it to me and I purchased it only to realise I’d already read it. LOL. But I can’t remember the ending so I’m continuing with it.

What is one random thing about you?  My favourite colour is Yellow

What is your preferred medium of writing? Pen and paper or strictly tablet and computer?
I plot on pad and paper but I write on a laptop, a very old, heavy, and it needs replacing laptop.

What does your writing process look like?
I have to have my notes next to me even though I know what’s going to happen. I can’t write if I can’t find them. I must have some kind of beverage, I’m trying to cut back on coffee so water or tea are often the best choices.
I set an alarm so that I get up and walk for ten minutes on the hour every hour or I’m a cripple by the end of the day.
And I like to nap in the afternoons…it’s a hard life 🙂

Do you have any strange writing habits (like standing on your head or writing in the shower)?
Apart from the fact that I write more if I go out than stay at home, no.

How important are names to you in your books? It’s funny, I seem to favour names that start with a D, Dane, Dave, Destiny and J, Jonas, Judge so I try and keep away from those.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
The only time I have an issue is if I can’t find an answer to a question on Google. The few times I’ve picked up the phone or met someone in the flesh, they’ve been extremely helpful in helping me with my research.

Did you make any marketing mistakes or is there anything you would avoid in future?
Not really. This industry is changing so quickly, you have to be prepared to move with it and try new things.
And what works for me may not work for you. My advice is to find an Author or Authors in your genre and copy their business practices.

What is your favorite motivational phrase? Your mind is like a parachute, it’s only working when it’s open.

What is your favorite book and why?
Lover Eternal by JR Ward.
It tells the story of a very attractive man who falls for a normal, average woman.
I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read this.

Do you have any advice for other writers?
Write everyday, read everyday. Take care of yourself and if you write full-time make sure, once a week, that you go out into the world and be a part of it. #WriteOn!

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?  I like to spend time with those I love the most

From where do you gain your inspiration? It’s all in my head but I do get the names of my characters from people around me.

What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around? I am self-published but I’m not against being traditionally published.
It would be fantastic to see my books on the shelves in bookstores. Now, I know not all publishing houses are the same but I like to design my own covers, and I like it that my books are as long or short as they need to be.
Being an Indie I can release my books as soon as they are ready, insuring an income.
From what I’ve been told if you go Traditional they only want one book a year and they take their cut of the profits.
I have thought about becoming a hybrid Author and I believe this is the path I’d like to take but not for a long time.

How do you market your books? I have a bloggers list who promote me when I have a new release or sale.
Kylie Give Me Books does all my Release Day Blitz’s.
My PA Maci Dillon organises takeovers and press releases and too many other things to talk about 🙂
Then lastly is my Street Team, Kelly Angels, these ladies promote me all over Facebook.

Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books? The only advice that I have is writing the book was the easy part, now the hard work begins.

What part of your writing time do you devote to marketing your book? I don’t start writing until 10am so if I’m up and awake, this is when I’m organising my posts and promoting myself.

What do you do to get book reviews?  I have my Street Team and I’m often preaching about writing reviews for my books.
I do not ask for 5 star reviews, this helps no one and leaves a nasty taste in my mouth.
I ask for honest reviews.

How successful has your quest for reviews been so far? It’s been ok and I want to thank everyone who has left a review. But like all Authors the more the better.

What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews?
It’s someone’s opinion I don’t mind either way. I don’t like all the books out there and I’m sure not everyone is going to like my books, it’s an opinion.

Any stories about marketing books that happened to you? There is a Katherine Kelly who also writes MC, I had no idea. Last year she got breast cancer and my inbox exploded with people wishing me well and offering to donate money. One reader even sent me flowers. Wow.

What’s your views on social media for marketing? It’s an invaluable tool. I just wish Facebook would stop changing, it would make it a lot easier on small businesses.

Which social network worked best for you? Facebook.

Any tips on what to do and what not to do? NEVER be negative, keep your opinions to yourself and be happy. If you go looking for negative, you’ll find it so be nice and happy.

Did you do a press release, Goodreads book launch or anything else to promote your work and did it work? I do, do press releases, not really sure if these work but the locals get a kick out of meeting you.
I’ve run promotions on Goodreads with success.

The best promotions I’ve done are BookBub and Robin Reads.

Which famous person, living or dead would you like to meet and why?
Because I have a HUGE crush on him, Dave Navarro.
If I can’t have Dave, Brian Murray CEO of HarperCollins, to pick his brain.

If you could have been the original author of any book, what would it have been and why? The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien. Can you imagine having your works being read by hundreds of millions of people? Having that much of a reach and getting your message out there? Not to mention the movies. I also love these books. Might be time for a re-read. 🙂

What advice would you give to aspiring writers? We all have doubts, even the most successful Authors. I know I’ve asked them.
We all think our work sucks, then it’s good, no it sucks, no actually it’s good etc. It’s normal.
Put pen to paper or fingers to the keyboards and get your story out!
Do not give it to family and friends to read, find someone else but someone you can trust. If you don’t have this,  someone, find me on Facebook and I will recommend someone for you.
Ask successful Authors questions. Don’t listen to Authors who haven’t sold a lot of books.
Join as many groups as possible so you can learn about the algorithms on Facebook and Amazon and lastly surround yourself with positive people.

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

I can be found on all of these platforms:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kathleenkellyauthor

Facebook Personal Page: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100005859376891&fref=ts
Website: https://kathleenkellyauthor.wordpress.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kkellyauthor

TSU: http://www.tsu.co/KathleenKellyAuthor

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1KBOq1G

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/-x035

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/kathleenkellyau/

Instagram: https://instagram.com/kathleenkellyauthor/

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

