#ASI: Madeline Antonia Rosenberg

Hi Madeline, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself and your background? My name is Madeline Antonia Rosenberg. I have always loved to read and write romance novels. Hot Mess is the first complete novel that I have ever written.  My characters and I LOVE flavored coffee and I am also partial to Diet Coke (add a lemon or lime of course). I am Jewish and grew up in a small town on Long Island.

Discuss your newest book. Hot Mess is an addicting young adult / new adult contemporary romance. My characters grab your attention and leave you begging for more.  This is the story of a small town that has a ton of drama. There is never a dull moment with the Clairetown crew! The characters are relatable and are probably like someone you know. Anna McCormick is every girl after a break up – she is vulnerable and seeks attention in the wrong places. She is easy to love and hate at the same time. Trevor Sullivan is almost too good to be true. He seems like he is perfect on the surface, but there is much more to him than meets the eye. Benji Shaw is the “perfect” boy next door. He has a bit of a hero complex and wants to fix everyone’s problems. Jaden Shaw is Benji’s younger sister who is away at Briar Wood, the boarding school upstate. I won’t give any spoilers, but the ending is a shocker! Can’t wait to check it out!

mad 2

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? Young adult romance novels have been my passion for as long as I can remember. I love bringing characters to life – a sign of a good book for me is a book that I can read over and over again.  I started writing Hot Mess a few years ago because I wanted to bring that excitement to readers with my own characters and storyline! It was exciting to develop the characters story and take them in a different direction than I had originally planned. It was an excellent way for me to be able to express myself whenever I was struggling with something. Writing always gave me the closure that I was searching for.

What are your current projects? I am currently working on my second novel, Jaded Jaden.

What books have most influenced your life most? Cecily Von Ziegesar’s books: Gossip Girl series, It Girl series and The Carlyles. I could pour through these books over and over again! Each book was better than the previous one, and I could not put them down. 

What inspired you to write your first book? I started writing Hot Mess a few years ago. It just came to me! I based the main character, Anna, on myself so I wrote about a lot of my own personal experiences.  It was fun to be able to re-create the situations! Interesting.

Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special? Anna seems like a cliché at first.  People are going to love her and hate her. She is a narcissist, but at the same time she has the biggest heart. She has a charming way about her that people gravitate towards.  She shows a lot of growth towards the end of the story.  I wrote this story in the span of a few years, and took it in a totally different direction than I thought I would. All the good ones do.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? People are always fighting a battle that you know nothing about. Nobody is perfect, therefore cherish every moment that you have with your loved ones.

Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead character from your most recent book?  I would love Emma Roberts to play Anna; she is an amazing actress and I believe she would really be able to encompass the character.

When did you decide to become a writer? In high school when I started writing love poems

Why do you write?  I write to express myself and hopefully inspire fans!

What made you decide to sit down and actually start something?  I wanted to get my story out there – I always felt as if I was living in a movie or a book; when I wrote the scenes down it really all came together! 

Do you write full-time or part-time?  Part-time  

What is the hardest thing about writing? Sitting down and writing – it takes patience!

What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book?  The hardest thing for me was being 100 % satisfied with my work.  My editor (my grandma) and I worked extremely hard and it was nerve – wracking to press that publishing button!

What is the easiest thing about writing? When I am inspired there is no stopping me!

What book are you reading now? After Burn & After Shock by Sylvia Day

What is one random thing about you? I have a snapchat channel where I document miscellaneous things.

What is your preferred medium of writing? Pen and paper or strictly tablet and computer? Strictly computer, but if I don’t have a computer available I will use my phone or paper and pen (that is my LAST resort).

What is the hardest thing about writing? Sitting down and writing – it takes patience!

What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book?  The hardest thing for me was being 100 % satisfied with my work.  My editor (my grandma) and I worked extremely hard and it was nerve – wracking to press that publishing button!

What is your preferred medium of writing? Pen and paper or strictly tablet and computer? Strictly computer, but if I don’t have a computer available I will use my phone or paper and pen (that is my LAST resort). Old Shool has its perks.

What does your writing process look like?  I sit in my bed and type on my computer. If I need inspiration I can play music as well.

 Do you have any strange writing habits (like standing on your head or writing in the shower)? No, but writing in the shower is an intriguing idea!

 How important are names to you in your books? EXTREMELY. I love creative and catchy names.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?  Figuring out what direction I want to take in my story  

Did you make any marketing mistakes or is there anything you would avoid in future? Self-publishing is gratifying and terrifying at the same time. I learned so much about the indie self-publishing world ever since Hot Mess came out. I think that I would focus more on promoting through Facebook and reaching out to more reader blogs. I focused a LOT on Instagram at first – it can be difficult to decide which social media platform works best for you.

What is your favorite motivational phrase? If at first you don’t succeed, try again.

 

What is your favorite book and why? Two-way Street by Lauren Barnholdt

I related to the main character Courtney and I LOVED that we got to see both characters points of view.  This was not your typical love story – I loved the twist!! I’ve read this book more than once and have fallen in love with the characters each time.

 

Do you have any advice for other writers? Write what you love – also always be gracious to other authors because they are the best support system!

 

What do you like to do when you’re not writing? I like to watch TV, hang out with my boyfriend, friends and family, read, use social media and shop (when I’m not too lazy).

 

From where do you gain your inspiration? My own life and TV shows

What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around? The advantages of self-publishing are you can always go back and correct your mistakes.  I also like that you are your own boss. The disadvantage of self-publishing is that you are completely on your own with regard to marketing; it can be very overwhelming.

How do you market your books? Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Hot Mess is on Kindle Unlimited, and I just did a 5-day-free promotion on Kindle which generated 1421 downloads!

Why did you choose this route?  I didn’t want to go through the traditional publishing route- I wanted to be able to set my own terms.

Would you or do you use a PR agency? I would because it is very time-consuming to promote your book on your own.

Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books? You’re going to have to give out a lot more free books than you want to in order to get reviews.

What part of your writing time do you devote to marketing your book? I spend a ton of my time marketing my book.

 

What do you do to get book reviews? I have given copies to people in order to get reviews. I also have messaged people on Instagram, Facebook, Goodreads and Twitter.

How successful has your quest for reviews been so far? Pretty successful; I am halfway to my target goal of 50. Awesome!

Do you have a strategy for finding reviewers? I like finding people who enjoy reading my genre.

What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews? Good reviews motivate me to want to write more. My first bad review made me really upset but then I learned that it is important to have honest reviews and you can always learn from them.

Any amusing story about marketing books that happened to you? Where should I begin? I saw that people were talking about me on Instagram that I “over-promoted” my books.  I realized that sometimes too much exposure isn’t necessarily a good thing! Also I learned that DNF means Did Not Finish. Thanks for notifying me! I have now learned something.

What’s your views on social media for marketing? It’s necessary and a way for the author to connect with the readers.

Which social network worked best for you? Facebook – it has the most people on it

Any tips on what to do and what not to do? Do: make an author page on Facebook and Goodreads, enroll your book in Kindle Unlimited (some authors aren’t into it but I think it’s great exposure for a new author), and put your book on Goodreads.

Not to do: Twitter isn’t so necessary unless you have a huge following

Did you do a press release, Goodreads book launch or anything else to promote your work and did it work?  I didn’t but I would like to do so for my next novel.

Which famous person, living or dead would you like to meet and why? Kylie Jenner – she is an entrepreneur and I would love to get makeup tips from her!!

If you could have been the original author of any book, what would it have been and why? Gossip Girl- it was made into a hit TV show and it has the best storylines.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?  Don’t go into writing for the money!

 

How can readers discover more about you and you work?  My author page! http://www.facebook.com/authormadelinearosenberg

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

