#ASI: ErinTrejo

Hi Erin, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself and your background?  I’m a stay at home mother of 4. I was born and raised in Illinois before my parent’s moved us to Georgia. I’m happily married to an amazing man. For the most part I’m a goofball that just enjoys writing.

Discuss your newest book. My newest book is Tank Fallen Angel’s MC 2. It’s the second book in the series. Tank is your typical alpha but has a heart of gold. His family means the world to him but his definition of family is different than most peoples.

erin1

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? I was listening to some music and an idea just kind of popped into my head and I went with it. It helps calm me to be able to write. Music is great inspiration!

What are your current projects? My current projects vary. LOL. I have a few I’m working on that are a little more dark romance than my normal books. I hope they turn out well!

What books have most influenced your life most? I don’t read a lot surprisingly.

 What inspired you to write your first book? Music. I think that music is a huge factor in my writing. It’s very inspirational. lol true!

Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special? Tank is an alpha male. He views his family as the people that mean the most to him. His family isn’t always blood-related and he knows that.  He plays a big role in the MC world.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? There is! It would that family is what you and who you make it.

Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead character from your most recent book? Vin Diesel! He would be amazing! Definitly Alpha male material!

When did you decide to become a writer? About a year ago.

Why do you write? Writing helps me calm my brain. At times I feel like my head spins in circles and writing helps me calm it.

What made you decide to sit down and actually start something? I thought that I’d try it one day. It helped a lot and it gave me a freedom to write whatever came to mind. I loved that.

Do you write full-time or part-time?  In between! Lol. I don’t have a regular job so I guess full time!

What is the hardest thing about writing? I would say the hardest thing would be how hard I am on myself. That self-doubt is horrible! I’m always asking for opinions when I feel like something isn’t good enough. I’m my own worst critic.

What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book? Deciding how to end it. I wasn’t sure which direction to take the ending. Endings can be tricky.

What is the easiest thing about writing? The easiest thing about writing for me is that I can make it into what I want it to be. I can twist the characters or plot into what I want it to be.

What book are you reading now? Sadly, I’m not reading anything at the moment.

What is one random thing about you? Just one??!! I’m a very random person. LOL. My favorite color is black. Always has been. Oohh! It’s a good color, so many things bring about its darkness.

What is your preferred medium of writing? Pen and paper or strictly tablet and computer? Strictly computer.

What does your writing process look like? I usually write at night so after all the kids are in bed, I climb in too with my laptop.

Do you have any strange writing habits (like standing on your head or writing in the shower)? Strange? No. I do yell at my characters out loud. LOL. Sometimes I have to send myself a random text to keep an idea.

How important are names to you in your books? Names aren’t really important. I think you can turn any name into a story.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? As I said before, I’m my own critic so I think that letting something go and moving on is a challenge for me.

Did you make any marketing mistakes or is there anything you would avoid in future? I haven’t found any mistakes yet. Everything we’ve tried as seemed to be helpful in its own way.

What is your favorite motivational phrase? THE CROW! “It can’t rain all the time.”  It holds many meanings to me.

What is your favorite book and why? I couldn’t pick one.

Do you have any advice for other writers? The only advice I would give would be to not give up. If you love it and it means something to you that’s all that matters. You can’t please everyone so please yourself. You are the most important.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing? I spend time with my family. I also have 2 bearded dragons that are my babies!

From where do you gain your inspiration? Music. All kinds of music. There isn’t just one genre that I listen to.

What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around? That’s a tough one. I was never published with a company so I’m not really sure about that. I think self-publishing is amazing though. You can choose your platforms and marketing.

How do you market your books? I personally use facebook, twitter, etc.

Why did you choose this route? Social media is a big industry. There are so many ways to connect with new people.

Would you or do you use a PR agency? I haven’t! If I found an agency that worked well with indie’s, I may look into it.

Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books? Just share. Anywhere and everywhere. If you’re not sharing no one will see your books.

What part of your writing time do you devote to marketing your book? Not much. I’m more into my writing than marketing.

What do you do to get book reviews? To get reviews I sometimes give away copies. I hold random giveaways on my page and things like that. If I get a new like to my page I like to send them a book of mine, kind of like a get to know me sort of thing.

How successful has your quest for reviews been so far? Not too bad. I don’t have many but I’m proud of the ones I do have.

Do you have a strategy for finding reviewers? Not really. I will sometimes ask friends to ask friends and things like that.

What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews? There all reviews! I think the bad ones help me to see what someone didn’t like. That way I can go back and look it over. Maybe it wasn’t working for that story. If I get a bad review I take it as a learning tool.

Any amusing story about marketing books that happened to you? NOT YET! LOL. I’m sure there will be in the future.

What’s your views on social media for marketing? I think it’s great. As I said early, there are so many ways to reach new people with social media.

Which social network worked best for you? Facebook. Facebook has so many groups that you can get into and promote and meet new people.

Any tips on what to do and what not to do? Don’t be pushy. Don’t expect to get a hundred 5 star reviews instantly. It’s a hard long road to gain a few reviews. Be patient.

Did you do a press release, Goodreads book launch or anything else to promote your work and did it work? As far as press release, I’ve only used facebook. I ask blogs for support on release day.

Which famous person, living or dead would you like to meet and why? Kurt Cobain. I think he had a powerful mind and I’d love to pick through it.

If you could have been the original author of any book, what would it have been and why? I don’t think I could pick one. I wouldn’t want anyone else’s work but my own.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers? Keep your head up. It takes a long time to get noticed. I’m still working on that part. It isn’t instant success and it is hard work.

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Facebook! Amazon! Twitter! I’m kind of all over. A quick search of my name on any of those and you will find me!

In case you don’t, here’s my links 😉

Erin’s  newsletter sign up url: http://eepurl.com/bKFqqb

Erin’s website: http://erintrejo.my-free.website/

Facebook like page: https://www.facebook.com/indieauthorerintrejo/?fref=ts

Facebook friend page: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100009168797091&fref=ts

Twitter: https://twitter.com/trejo_erin

Amazon url: http://amzn.to/1OLCYUm

 

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

