#FindingFamily Chapter I

Chapter 1
The Eye looks daunting from the ground, it once inside it is beautiful. London unfolds before you, giving you a different view than those too scared to come aboard. The sun rising over the horizon is gorgeous from the top, I almost cry as the wheel begins its descent.
My vacation is off to a great start, I landed yesterday and caught up on sleep. I have ridden the Eye twice now and am looking for a coffee shop. I bump into a man, spilling coffee on his black silk shirt. “Shit! I’m sorry.” Quickly I grab napkins out of his hand to help clean up, then I look up. “Oh…my…god.” I feel the blood drain from my cheeks and my heart gallops into overdrive.
Smoldering blue eyes and a cheeky smile stare down at me as I’m frantically wiping off his torso, he takes my hands in his and I freeze. “It’s ok. I’m fine.” THE John Narrow man said slowly, and a tad loudly.
“Oh Shit!”
“What, is, your,name?”
“I-I-I am Chandler Forbes, Mr. Barrowman.” I stammer, my movie-star crush right in front of me and I can’t talk. I am an idiot.
“Sandra? Sorry, I’m working with a charity to help deaf people. I’ve gone deaf for a day.” His Scottish lilt is even, more memorizing in person.
Someone jostled me as the pedestrian light turned green. I took his arm, (why did I do that?), and walked him across the street. As we walked I pulled out my phone, and carefully typed “Do you need help getting around today?” He glanced at me curiously, and I quickly added, “I promise not to fan girl out or take fifty pictures. I just want to help.” Having a task to focus on was helping me regain my confidence and a little dignity I’ll admit.
“Sure if you’re not busy.” His grin lights up the sidewalk as I let him pull me to wherever our destination was going to be.
Back in the silence, my stupid brain started working again,John Barrowman is letting me help him around! Captain Jack Harkness is dragging me off on some adventure, this is amazing!” He may not be able to hear me right now, but I’m beyond thankful he can’t read my thoughts. I feel the blood warming my face again and know I just look crazy. There is a goofy grin plastered on that I can’t get rid of.
“Sandra, you have my permission to fangirl a little, I can’t hear your shrieking.”
That sobered me and I texted out my response, “It is Chandler Mr. Barrowman, and I’m ok. I’ll freak out on my own time.”
“Not a normal fan then.”
“Oh no, big fan of both voice and shows, but I also like to help those in need. Someone really should be helping you around.”
“It’s about experiencing a day in the life of a deaf person. They don’t always have someone to help.” He opened the door to a tall building for me.
It’s different, but I have a good friend back home that is blind. She gets around well on her own but it’s nice to have me around to help once in awhile. What floor?” We pause by a bank of elevators and he gently releases my hand to press the up button.
“Top. These guys you are about to meet can be a bit pushy so be careful ok?” he winked at me, we stepped inside and off we flew. I’m about to meet some bigwigs either in show business or the music industry, this so does not happen to girls from small Midwestern towns…with celebrities!
This vacation is going to be epic!

Tune in next week for Chapter Two

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

