#FindingFamily Chapter II

There is glass everywhere. The doors, walls and even some squares of the checkered pattern floor are made of glass. Someone has hung posters of different shows with a few floral prints in-between, to distinguish the walls from doors.
The bustling women dress with enough class they seem to be from another time, a more refined era. The men flitted about dressed in sharply tailored suits, belt only no suspenders here. I am too caught up in the wonder of it all I trip over my own feet and almost John down with me.
John informed an angry gnome-looking colleague about what he was doing and who I am while I worked through the shiny breakable surroundings. I am beginning to feel like a bull in a window shop, the tables were also made of frosted glass.
I felt him tug on my shirt sleeve, “Do you need some water or something while we’re here?”
I shook my head no and pecked a short message to him, “I’m good. If you don’t mind, I’ll wait outside if you don’t need me.” I smiled weakly, nodding to a hard gray office chair. I’d be out of the way and still nearby if he wanted help. Two nodded and went to meet six people sitting at a sharp oval table.
Carefully sitting down, I pulled my mangy copy of “Love & Drugs” out of my MARINES messenger bag and began reading. I may be on an adventure but I’m always prepared for downtime. It becomes a habit when you spend as much time in a hospital waiting to hear if your mom is going to be ok from her latest “accident” as I do…did.
Mom had fifty-two trips to the hospital by my twenty-first birthday, and a couple of months ago she had a final incident with my dad’s baseball bat. Needless to say, childhood wasn’t that great. Thankfully I was the only casualty of that toxic life. I am trying to start a new life with a new college in a new country.
Shouts snapped me out of memory lane, John looked angry. The others had a range of anger, bored and frustration. I put my book away and grabbed my phone then walked into the room. “Excuse me, is everything ok n here?”
The grumpy gnome started barking, “You’re his handler, tell him this isn’t working. Either take out the hearing device or sit quietly in a corner.”
John looked at me, confused. I handed him my phone with the text open, “give me a second.” I turned to the rest of the board. “Is this how your meetings usually go? Mr. Barrowman just sits in a corner with no input on how his life goes? I don’t believe it.” My own experience with my friend being mistreated was coming up ticking me off even more. “I highly doubt that. He is doing some research for a charity an you are asking him to forsake that because you don’t want to find a way to work with a disability?
“I’m sorry, but he is a wonderful person and you are an evil little man who should know better! Going under the assumption that you were more than likely picked on in high school. I don’t know how you got this far in life, but you need to change the way you deal with people. Let him do what he normally does and find a way to converse with him.” I jabbed my finger onto the table to drive my point home before telling John everything was okay and to finish his meeting.
I went back to my chair outside the room, glaring at the man, letting him know I will step in if he doesn’t do as I say. Secretly, I am scared shitless and hoping that I didn’t screw anything up for John. It took a few hours, but John finally finished his meeting (they started writing things down for him) and we left for lunch.
I managed to talk, err…text, him into just fish and chips from a street vendor instead of a fancy restaurant. Mostly so I could say that I took him out, hey it is a fantasy full-filling day so why not? After we went to a dog park to wait for a guide dog.
Once the German Shepherd arrived I gave him my number ad took my leave. He was in safe…paws for the rest of the day and I had a date with a Cathedral.

Tune in next week for Chapter Three

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

