#FindingFamily Chapter V

Yes, the hostel looked like it should have been condemned quite a few years ago and it is in a bad part of town but it is cheap and I’m only here for a couple of weeks. I can tough it out, but the look on John’s face said he wanted to do the “action-hero” thing and blow it up without looking back. I was barely out of the cab when he grabbed my arm, “You’re not seriously staying here are you?”

“It’s not so bad and it’s just somewhere to crash until school starts and I get a job,” I smiled confidently. “Thank you for the dinner and seeing me back. I think you better head on home, the cabbie looks ready to leave you.” I nodded toward the grumpy looking driver.

“Be right back mate.” He said throwing the driver a couple of big Bill’s and stepped out, “I’m sorry but I can’t let you stay here. Let’s collect your things and get out of here.”

“John, I appreciate the concern but I couldn’t impose on you and your husband. We just met. I could be a crazy person for all you know…especially after our earlier conversation.” I whispered.

“I trust you are not like your father and Mama Barrowman would skelp my behind if I wasn’t the gentleman she raised. Scott won’t mind, he’s a pushover.” He started up the stairs as I stood there wondering if I was in a dream.

Stuff like this never happens, especially to me. I don’t deserve it, would it be horrible to enjoy my crazy miracle? I looked up at him just as the door opened behind him, causing a halo of light to circle his gorgeous hair; giving him the appearance of an angel of mercy, a lifeline in my dead end world.

I joined him and continued in, listening to the creaking floorboards and voices of other patrons floated through the walls. “My room is on the third-floor.” I informed him at the second-floor landing.

“Is that British or American numbering?”

“Crap, I forgot the first floor is zero here, so my room would be the first door on the left of the second.” We went up two more flights and found my room open with a woman going through my things.

John cleared his throat, startling her. As she jumped away from my suitcase, I noticed I had already lost my favorite pair of jeans and my only sweater to her sickly thin frame. “Maybe staying with you is a good idea.” The unknown woman scattered before we could do anything.

He placed an arm around my shaking shoulders, “I am glad you changed your mind. Let’s get your stuff together and get home.”

“Agreed.” It only took five minutes to shove my pillow and the few clothes the stranger had discarded onto the floor back into my suitcase and go back downstairs.

The cabbie must have been jumpier than I thought, he was long gone when we made it back to the door. It took twenty minutes for John to order a new cab, for it to arrive and then we were off for his home.

I do not know how I made it through the ride, let alone the day, without freaking out. Some part of my brain had taken over and I was as cool as a cucumber on the outside, while inside I was a teenage girl drooling over being so close to my movie-star crush. Ok, I admit, I wasn’t that smooth. I had my fangirl moments, I would glance at him and grin wildly before turning away. Half a dozen times I would get ready to start a conversation with him, but thought I would sound stupid so I wouldn’t say anything and look out the window at the dark streets and mentally kick myself.

Tune in next week for Chapter Five and don’t forget to like my Author page for updates on this and more!

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

