#ASI: Elizabeth Cash

Hi Elizabeth, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself and your background?

-I was born in Lake City, FL but moved to St. Augustine when I was six. I’ve lived here since then and have grown to love it, and I consider it my hometown. I am 23-years-old, married to a crazy, wonderful man, and I have two wonderful kids. Aaliyah, who is 5, and Bentley, who is 2. They drive me insane and keep me whole. I’m extremely goofy and kindhearted.

Discuss your newest book.

-The Only Way Out is my debut novella. It is about a girl named Wednesday Emmerson, who struggles with depression and anxiety. She has been dealt a really bad hand in life. She is constantly having traumatic things happen to her. The final straw was Brian. Her boyfriend of three years. When he leaves her, she makes a decision that will change her life. And in the words of Rein, everything else is “Just another day in paradise.” I don’t want to give away too much because this is a short book, so you’ll have to read it to find out. I must read it to find out!

elizabeth1

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

-I found that I truly loved writing when I was in my high school ENG 3 class. We had an assignment to do on The Catcher in the Rye, and we were prompted to create an alternate character for Holden. It was a lot of fun, and ever since then I would make alternate characters for characters I would read about to see if it would fit them or I would write a short story to finish a book that felt unfinished to me. Cool, #GOSCHOOL!

What are your current projects?

-At the moment I am working on a psychological thriller/horror. It is still in the baby stages of planning and plot twisting, but it will be gruesome and awesome. Sounds scary.

What books have most influenced your life most?

-Every book I have read has impacted me on some level. The one that influenced my life the most I believe would be Three Little Words by Ashley Rhodes-Courter. It was a very emotionally raw and traumatic book. It took me forever to pick up another book because I didn’t want to feel all the feels like I did reading that. It was also one of the very first books that introduced me into the amazing book-hangover world.

What inspired you to write your first book?

-I have seen first hand what depression and anxiety can do to someone you love. My mother suffers from them, and my husband does as well. I wanted to give insight on what depression can do and how hard it is to overcome. It’s not just a get over it type of thing. It’s a constant pull, a constant battle to stay alive when all you want to do is curl up and wither away. That is great, I know a lot of people out there struggle with depression, it sounds like this book could be an inspiration for them.

Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?

-Wednesday is a sweet girl but has been dealt a very sharty hand in life. She struggles with depression and anxiety. She does her best, but it seems like life has other plans and wants to keep her down. In the end, she finds out what it means to have a happy ending. Love the name, and she sounds very down to earth. I hope she gets her happy ending.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

-You are never alone, no matter what struggles you are going through. Even if you need to talk to a stranger, there are people who will be a listening ear and friend to you in your time of need.

Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead character from your most recent book?

-I’d love to see Anne Hathway play Wednesday. She is an amazing actress and kills every role she has played.

What made you decide to sit down and actually start something?

-It wouldn’t go away lol I have always loved to write short stories, and this was originally a short story that I had written and put away, but it wouldn’t leave me alone. In the back of my mind, the story kept growing, and eventually I sat down and finished it. All the good ones do that.

Do you write full-time or part-time?

-I wish I could write full-time. But I am a mother, a hospitality worker, and a full-time student at Ashford University. Between all that and adulating, I write half-time. Sometimes, none. I’d give my left leg to be able to be an author full-time and still have all my bills paid lol Wouldn’t we all? lol

What was the hardest thing about writing your latest book?

-It was hard having to write such a broken character. I love Wednesday and she is an awesome person, but she has some serious demons that are truly heartbreaking.

What is the easiest thing about writing?

-Tori. Her bubbly personality made things a little brighter and a little easier to write.

What book are you reading now?

-I am in the process of reading CoHo’s Never Never series. I love her books and the way she writes.

What is one random thing about you?

-I am a weirdo who loves all the lacy and black things. Oh and I am a huge procrastinator. I am a ‘wait-last-minute-then-stress-out’ type of chick. Some times procrastination turns out to be very helpful.

What is your preferred medium of writing? Pen and paper or strictly tablet and computer?

-It depends. If I’m at home, my computer is my go to. But I always keep a pad and pen just in case a good scene or plot twist decides to pop up in my mind.

What does your writing process look like?

-Very sloppy. Most authors like to have everything planned out, but I just go with the flow and take notes as I am writing. It can get confusing, but once I have everything written, I organize it and go from there.

Do you have any strange writing habits (like standing on your head or writing in the shower)?

-I have to have background noise. Silence is such a buzz kill for me. If it’s quiet, I can’t write or concentrate.

How important are names to you in your books?

-They are very important to me. I want for the names I use to be unique and memorable. They have to match the character as well. Wednesday was originally Shelby, but it didn’t live with my character at all. So, I changed it and created Wednesday Emmerson.

Did you make any marketing mistakes or is there anything you would avoid in future?

-I will never format my books myself, ever again. I used Calibre and messed up so many things. My awesome author friend fixed everything for me and formatted it. It was horrible.

What is your favorite book and why?

-The Fish Tale Series. I read the whole series in three days, and it wrecked me and molded me and then killed me again just to tape me back together. It packed a huge punch and that’s what I love about it.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

-Do no give up. It can get hard at times, but it’s worth it in the end.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

-Eat. I’m a big foodie. I am always eating. I even dance a little while eating because it makes me happy.

From where do you gain your inspiration?

-It comes from all over. The book I am working on now was a dream I had. Or more of a nightmare. The Only Way Out was inspired by my loved ones who struggle with depression. I have another book partly planned that was inspired by a photo my friend took. For me, inspiration comes from all over.

What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around?

-I love the freedom the self-publishing gives me. I make my deadlines, and I get to pick and choose who my editor will be or who will design my cover.

How do you market your books?

-Social media mainly.

Would you or do you use a PR agency?

-I would, but at the moment, I enjoy doing things on my own.

Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books?

-SHARE! On any and every social networking place you can. #SpreadtheLove!

What part of your writing time do you devote to marketing your book?

-About half of it goes to marketing. I want people to get a feel for it before it comes out. I want them to become interested in my work and want to get it when it is released.

What do you do to get book reviews? How successful has your quest for reviews been so far?

-I have been using promo pages on Facebook and Twitter. I try to share my book as much as possible for people get it and leave a review. Since it was just released, I do not have many reviews, but I will continue to do what I’m doing until the reviews grow.

Do you have a strategy for finding reviewers?

-If someone wishes to review my book, I’d be more than happy to give them a copy. I also use promo pages for that as well. Some of them have a place you can submit your book for review. I have submitted my book to a few places already. I’m waiting to hear back.

Any amusing story about marketing books that happened to you?

-Since I’m new to all this, I don’t have one. I wish I did, though.

Which social network worked best for you?

-Facebook. There are so many people that use Facebook, and a good portion of them read. I’d say over half of my friends are authors, reviewers, and just book lovers in general.

Did you do a press release, Goodreads book launch or anything else to promote your work and did it work?

-I did not. I just shared my little heart out on all of my social media pages.

Which famous person, living or dead would you like to meet and why?

-I would love to meet either Edgar Allen Poe or Tim Burton. I have loved their work since I was a kid and it’d be amazing to meet someone I’ve looked up to since I was a kid. They are two of my favorites as well.

If you could have been the original author of any book, what would it have been and why?

-That’s a tough one. I’d go with SNAP by Tara Dawn. It is a series, but SNAP is the first book, and it is amazing. It’s one of those books that leaves you wondering what kind of world we live in and it takes you a while to figure out how you are gonna review it because words just don’t seem to do it justice.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

-Keep writing. No matter what. If you love it, keep going. I promise, in the end, once you upload it or have the print in your hands, you’ll feel so complete. Total euphoria comes from seeing your blood, sweat, and tears on the screen or in your hands.

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Facebook lol I am a social media whore and I am on there all the time promoting an sharing my work.

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

