2 Tips For Introducing Your Protagonist

A Writer's Path

apple-1216853_640

by Kathryn

What’s wrong with this picture?

I wake up in the morning and look in the mirror, find my big green eyes crusted with sleep. I brush my beautiful brown hair and check my flawless skin for pimples, but of course I don’t have any, so I don’t need to put on any makeup. Then I walk over to my closet and put on my school uniform shirt and skirt, check my reflection one more time. Then I head down stairs for a delicious, filling breakfast.’

Obviously that paragraph is insipid to the point of hyperbolic, but it’s not like writing like this doesn’t exist.

Remember learning the concept of “show, not tell” back in elementary school?

Yes, it’s still (and always) super relevant.

View original post 973 more words

Published by

Courtney M. Wendleton

I'm an author with an associate's in psychology. Interested in a lot of different things, and love controversy. The more controversial the better, but that's not all I'm interested in. Can be a bit confusing at times, but that's normal!

Leave a Reply

